Evangelist Asif Hassan

The true story of his salvation experience!

For me it was the end of the world. A little jail cell was all I had to show for my life. By the time I was fifteen I was at the bottom of the barrel looking up. I destroyed everything of value in my life; my mother’s hopes, my family’s confidence in me, and a chance at a respectable future. I made one bad choice after another; alcohol, crude behavior, bad associations, crime, gangs, all of which caused me to break down every surrounding wall of love and affection from those closest to me. I destroyed my reputation, lost my chance to complete my education, and many times felt I had no reason to live.

I was born in a Muslim home. My innocent childhood was affected by two major disappointments. When I was five ears old my parents separated. I was raised by my mother and her family. During my visits to my father’s home, an uncle befriended me and then sexually abused me.

When I was nine years old, I moved to Toronto, Canada. Soon after the relocation, I started school. That is when it all began – the racism! The ridicule! The insults!…..

The cruelty of my peers developed a strong resentment inside of me, which led to retaliation. I got involved in gang warfare, and soon found myself in and out of jail over the next five years. Everything I tried in those dark years, in an effort to find peace and happiness, left me empty and lonely. Criminal activity became a normal part of my life; Breaking and Entering, Assault, Attempted murder, and Possession of Guns and Knives. While serving the sentence for Attempted Murder, which was then reduced to Aggravated Assault, I found myself desperate, abandoned, and lonely in a jail cell. My friends had vanished; my family was tired of me; and I was now alone with no one to turn to … miserable and hopeless!

One day, an uncle who was a Pastor in the USA visited me while I was in jail. He obtained a Gideon Bible from the warden and offered it to me. He told me about Jesus, and left the Gideon Bible for me to read in my cell. I took the Bible from him, and for the first time in my life, began to read it.

I stumbled upon the verse that said “For He looked down from the height of His sanctuary; from heaven the LORD viewed the earth: to hear the groaning of the prisoner, to release those appointed to death.“ (Psalm 102:19-20)

I began to weep. I thought – “God, you can hear me! How could you know me?“ I began to question in my mind; why didn’t God show up earlier in my life? Why didn’t He come to my rescue when I was being abused? Why didn’t He show up before I made a fool of myself and ruined my life? I took the Bible and threw it against the wall. I became very angry at God.

Some time later, I was released on probation, but soon found myself in trouble again with the law. I fled to the United States and stayed with my uncle, the pastor. He constantly told me about Jesus. Many times he asked if I wanted to accept Jesus Christ as my Saviour. My reply was always, “ No, I am a Muslim, Jesus is just a prophet.“

After a short visit, I decided to return to Canada because I could not take anymore of the Christian love, peace, and joy in his home. My uncle drove me to meet my ride back to Toronto. Before I left his vehicle, he asked me again if I wanted to accept Jesus Christ as my Saviour. “ No way!“ was my reply. “I have a life to live“. At that point, it did not matter how hopeless I was – I did not want anything to do with Jesus. To me, He was just a prophet. My uncle asked if he could pray with me before I left for Toronto. I agreed, held his hand and bowed my head.

During his short prayer, a vision appeared to me as clear as day, and almost touchable. In the vision, I saw myself in a downward spiral, moving from prison to prison. At the bottom of the spiral was a dark pit with bars. In the pit it was damp and cold, and there was only enough room for me to stand upright on my knees. I heard myself crying out, “ If someone is out there, please help me!“ At that moment, a hand flowing with brilliance suddenly appeared and reached through the bars, grabbed me and pulled me out of the pit.

The instant the hand touched me; I somehow knew it was Jesus Christ! I had never felt such a touch of mercy and love before in my life. At that moment, my uncle asked again if I wanted to receive Jesus Christ as my Saviour. With tears streaming down my face, I cried out, “Yes! Yes!“

The Sinner’s Prayer

Dear Jesus, if you saved Asif and changed his life, you can change me. I confess my sins to you and I ask for your forgiveness. Please come into my heart and be my Saviour. I believe you died on the cross and rose again for me, and that you are the Son of God. I will turn away from my sins and serve you the rest of my life. Amen.

His testimony can be viewed here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bdi_LYM02vQ

TOP